2021 All-ACC men’s soccer team announced

GREENSBORO, North Carolina (theACC.com) – Duke and Pitt have combined to win all five of the season’s awards as the 2021 Atlantic Coast Conference men’s soccer team was released on Wednesday following a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches .

Duke second-year forward Thorleifur Ulfarsson took home the ACC Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Pitt graduate defenseman Jasper Löeffelsend was named ACC Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Duke’s second-year midfielder Peter Stroud was voted ACC Midfielder of the Year, while his teammate, midfielder Shakur Mohammed, took home the first-year honors of the l year of the ACC. Pitt head coach Jay Vidovich has been named ACC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Pitt led all schools with eight All-ACC picks, including six of 11 second-team picks. Clemson had five picks, while Wake Forest took home four winners. Löeffelsend and Notre Dame junior forward Jack Lynn have each been selected to the All-ACC first team for the second consecutive season.

Ulfarsson is the first Duke player to win Offensive Player of the Year since Andrew Wenger in 2011. Hailing from Kopavogur, Iceland, Ulfarsson is tied for the top of the ACC with 13 goals this season, despite just 12 matches. He is second in total on points with 27. Nine of his goals this season have been against ACC opponents, most anyone in the league.

Löeffelsend is the first player to reiterate Defensive Player of the Year since Ike Opara of Wake Forest in 2008-09. The Cologne, Germany native is spearheading a strong Pitt defense from his right-back position. He has also contributed two goals and eight assists this season. He is tied for the ACC lead in assists.

A native of Chester, New Jersey, Stroud has played in all 16 of Duke’s games, with 15 starts, and has three goals and three assists this season from the Blue Devils central midfielder.

Mohammed, from Kumasi, Ghana, has scored three goals and six assists this season. His six assists are the highest by a Duke freshman since Max Moser had seven in 2016. Mohammed also secured a berth in the All-ACC second team and is one of only two freshmen. year on the All-ACC team this season, joining Sander Roed of Louisville. (third team).

Vidovich has been named ACC Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his career. He was also voted league coach of the year five times during his tenure at Wake Forest (2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009). Vidovich led the Panthers to a share of the CCA Coastal Division for the second consecutive season, and Pitt won the No. 1 seed in the CCA championship.

The 2021 ACC Championship continues on Wednesday with the semi-final matches. No.5 seeded Pitt will entertain Notre Dame at 5 p.m. in the first semi-final, while No.2 seeded Clemson will host No.3 seed Duke at 7 p.m. Both matches will be broadcast on the ACC network. The championship game is scheduled for Sunday at 2 p.m. at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC. ESPNU has broadcast.

The ACC has six top 25 teams in the last NCAA RPI, twice as many as any other conference. Pitt, Clemson and Duke are number 4, 5 and 6 respectively. Notre Dame is number 14. North Carolina is # 20 in the RPI, while Virginia Tech is # 22.

2021 CCA Men’s Soccer Award Winners

Offensive Player of the Year – Thorleifur Ulfarsson, So., F, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year РJasper L̦effelsend, Gr., D, Pitt
Midfielder of the Year – Peter Stroud, So., M, Duke
Freshman of the Year – Shakur Mohammed, M, Duke
Coach of the Year – Jay Vidovich, Pitt

2021 All-ACC Team
First team

Oskar Agren, Clemson
Peter Stroud, Duke
Thorleifur Ulfarsson, Duke
Aboubacar Camara, Louisville
Pedro Fonseca, Louisville
Alec Smir, North Carolina
Jack Lynn, Notre-Dame
Jasper Löeffelsend, Pitt
DeAndre Kerr, Syracuse
Jacob Labovitz, Virginia Tech
Kyle Holcomb, Wake Forest

Second team

Hamady Diop, Clemson
George Marks, Clemson
Ousmane Sylla, Clemson
Shakur Mohammed, Duke
Rodrigo Almeida, Pitt
Bertin Jacquesson, Pitt
Valentine’s Day Christmas, Pitt
Arturo Ordoñez, Pitt
Veljko Petkovic, Pitt
Jackson Walti, Pitt
Leo Afonso, Virginia

Third team

Victor Souza, Boston College
Quinn McNeil, Clemson
Sander Roed, Louisville
Joe Pickering, North Carolina
Filippo Zattarin, North Carolina
Philippe Quinton, Notre-Dame
Nico Campuzano, Pitt
Mayola Kinyua, Virginia Tech
Nico Benalcazar, Wake Forest
Omar Hernandez, Wake Forest
Jake Swallen, Wake Forest

Fresh team

Aidan Farwell, Boston College
Ruben Mesalles, Duke
Shakur Mohammed, Duke
Sander Roed, Louisville
Ken Bellini, North Carolina
Tega Ikoba, North Carolina
Josh Ramsey, Notre-Dame
Matthieu Roou, Notre-Dame
Guilherme Feitosa, Pitt
Curt Calov, Syracuse
Asparuh Slavov, Virginia
Danny Flores, Virginia Tech

Comments are closed.