2022 Subway ACC Football Championship Game Kickoff Set for Primetime

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) – The 2022 Subway Atlantic Coast Conference football championship game kicks off at 8 p.m. on ABC on Saturday, Dec. 3 at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina. The game will feature the winner of the Atlantic Division against the winner of the Coastal Division.

It is the 13th time in the last 14 years that the game has taken place in prime time, and 12 different teams have taken part in the game since its debut in 2005. Last season, No 15 Pitt, behind the game ACC Player of the Year Kenny Pickett won his first ACC football title with a 46-21 win over No. 16 Wake Forest.

Bank of America Stadium, home of the NFL’s Carolina Panthers, has hosted 11 of the last 12 ACC Football Championship games. In 2018, the ACC and the Charlotte Sports Foundation reached an agreement to keep the game in Charlotte through 2030. Not including the 2020 game, which had limited attendance due to the pandemic, the championship football games ACC matches played at Bank of America Stadium had an average attendance of nearly 70,000 fans. The ACC has the second-highest average attendance for any Power 5 conference championship game since 2010.

The conference championship game winner has gone on to play in the national championship game or make the college football playoffs in eight of the past nine seasons, including two teams in 2020. The ACC has the second-most CFP appearances from all conferences.

Earlier this week, Clemson was voted the preseason favorite to win the ACC title by a poll of 164 media voters, while Miami was picked to finish atop the Coast Division. NC State’s Devin Leary was named ACC Preseason Player of the Year. Leary leads a contingent of ACC returning quarterbacks who are some of the best in the country. ACC continues to establish itself as the Quarterbacks Conference with 10 returning QBs with at least nine career starts, including Sam Hartman of Wake Forest (46), Malik Cunningham of Louisville (38), Brennan Armstrong of Virginia (20) and Leary (20).

Comments are closed.