ACC Men’s Golf Championship to be played April 24-25

• ACC Men’s Golf News Release (pdf)
• Golfstat live scores page
• ACC Men’s Golf Championship page

ACC Men’s Golf Championship to be played April 22-25

• The ACC Men’s Golf Championship will be held April 22-25 at Shark’s Tooth Golf Course at the Watersound Club in Panama City, Florida. North Carolina is the top seed. The format includes three rounds of stroke play on Friday and Saturday, followed by match play semi-finals on Sunday and match play finals on Monday. Clemson is the defending champion.

• Friday’s first round begins at 7:30 am with continuous play throughout the day for the second round. The third round on Saturday begins at 9 a.m. Match play semifinals on Sunday and finals on Monday begin at 9 a.m. Spectators are allowed at the ACC Men’s Golf Championship and it is not a ticketed event.

• The semi-finals and finals of the ACC Men’s Golf Championship match play will be televised live on ACC Network Extra from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Will Haskett (play-by-play) and Steve Scott (analyst) will handle the call. A recap show of the championship will air May 2 at 7 p.m. on ACCN. Owned and operated by ESPN in partnership with the Atlantic Coast Conference, ACC Network (ACCN) and its digital platform ACCNX is a national 24/7 network dedicated to ACC sports that launched on August 22, 2019.

• Six ACC teams are ranked in the Golfstat Top 25 – No. 5 North Carolina, No. 11 Georgia Tech, No. 13 Notre Dame, No. 17 Wake Forest, No. 23 Clemson and No. 24 Florida State . NC State is just outside the top 25 at No. 26.

• Six ACC teams are ranked in the current Golfweek/Sagarin rankings – No. 6 North Carolina, No. 10 Georgia Tech, No. 14 Notre Dame, No. 18 Wake Forest, No. 19 Florida State and No. 23 Clemson .

• The Haskins Awards watch list includes Florida State’s Frederik Kjettrup, North Carolina’s Ryan Gerard and Austin Greaser, Notre Dame’s Palmer Jackson and Wake Forest’s Michael Brennan. The Haskins Prize is awarded annually to the top college golfer in the nation. Last year John Pak of Florida State won the award.

• Six ACC players are on the Hogan Awards Watch List: Jacob Bridgeman of Clemson, Ryan Gerard and Austin Greaser of North Carolina, Palmer Jackson of Notre Dame and Michael Brennan of Wake Forest and Alex Fitzpatrick of Wake Forest. The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annually recognizes the top male college golfer based on all college, amateur and professional events over the past 12 months. North Carolina and Wake Forest are two of seven schools with multiple players on the watch list.

• Clemson’s No. 6 Jacob Bridgeman and Wake Forest’s No. 9 Alex Fitzpatrick are ranked in the top 10 of the latest Velocity Global PGA University Rankings. The Velocity World Rankings are designed to identify the best college golfers based on their earnings, competitiveness, and performance throughout the season.

• Clemson captured the 2021 ACC Men’s Golf Championship at Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course with a dramatic 3-2 win over Florida State. It was the Tigers’ 11th men’s golf title, 10th under head coach Larry Penley and first since 2016. Clemson never led until Zack Gordon’s 20-foot putt fell on the 21st hole overall (#3) to win the championship.

• Peter Fountain of North Carolina shot a 66 in the third round to become the 10th freshman in league history to win the individual title and the first since Georgia Tech’s Cameron Tringale in 2006. 200 tied for the lowest 54-hole mark in ACC Championship history with Thomas Walsh of Virginia (2018). Fountain held off NC State’s Benjamin Shipp, who shot a par 69 from 1 under for a 201 (-9) total.

• A league-record 10 ACC teams won bids for the 2021 NCAA Regional Championships. Clemson, Florida State and Wake Forest won three of six regional No. 1 seeds and were joined in competition by Duke, Georgia Tech, Louisville, North Carolina, NC State, Notre Dame and Virginia. A league record seven of those teams — the most of any conference — advanced from regional play to compete in the NCAA Championship at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona. Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, North Carolina, NC State and Wake Forest all finished in the top five in their respective NCAA region to earn a spot in the national championship. The previous record for ACC teams in the NCAA Championship was six, which has happened five times, most recently in 2019.

• Florida State and North Carolina finished in the top eight in stroke play at the NCAA championships to advance to match play before falling in the quarterfinals.

• Clemson’s Turk Pettit posted a four-day total of 273 (-7) to win the 2021 NCAA Men’s Individual Golf Championship at Grayhawk Golf Club by a stroke over Oklahoma State’s Bo Jin. Pettit’s title was the 10th men’s individual national golf championship in ACC history and the first since NC State’s Matt Hill in 2009.

• Georgia Tech and Wake Forest have each won 18 ACC championships to lead the conference. The Yellow Jackets have won eight of the last 11 titles, while the Demon Deacons are in the hunt for their first championship since 1989.

2022 ACC Men’s Golf Championship Schedule of Events
April 22-25, Panama City Beach, Florida
Shark’s Tooth Golf Course at Watersound Club

Friday, April 22, 2022
7:30 a.m. to 9:18 a.m. First Round Tee Times in Stroke Play (Shared Tees)
Round 2 Stroke Play (Split Tees)
Continuous play from the first round. No rematch between rounds.

Saturday, April 23, 2022
9:00 a.m. – 10:48 a.m. Third Round Tee Times in Stroke Play (Shared Tees)
Individual champion award ceremony at the end of the game
Announcements of the composition of the semi-finals in team match play

Sunday, April 24, 2022
9:00 a.m. – 10:48 a.m. Semi-Final Match Play Tee Times (All off #1)
Championship team match roster announcements at the end of the game

Monday, April 25, 2022
9:00 a.m. – 9:48 a.m. Championship Game Tee Times (All Closed #1)
Team champions award ceremony at the end of the game

Comments are closed.