ACC sends 10 teams to NCAA Men’s Regional Golf Championships

GREENSBORO, NC ( –A league-record tying 10 Atlantic Coast Conference men’s golf teams have won a bid for the 2022 NCAA Regionals, the GOLF Channel announced Wednesday.

The league’s 10 reps are second in all conferences and tie the ACC record of 10 set in 2015 and 2021. It’s the 15th time in the past 16 years of NCAA competition that at least eight teams of the CCA won a regional bid.

North Carolina, which has been ranked among the top five teams in the nation for most of the season, earned a No. 1 seed in the New Haven, Conn. area and will be joined at the golf course of Yale by No. 3 seed Wake Forest, No. 5 Seed NC State and No. 10 Seed Virginia. Virginia Tech’s Connor Burgess will also be competing as an individual in this regional. The Tar Heels led the competition in stroke play at the 2022 ACC Men’s Golf Championship before falling to eventual league champion Wake Forest in the match play semifinals.

Georgia Tech, ranked 11th in the nation by Golfstat, is the No. 2 seed from the Columbus, Ohio area, which also includes No. 4 seed Clemson and No. 7 seed Duke. The Yellow Jackets had four wins this season and finished second to Wake Forest in a thrilling match play final at the ACC Championships. Clemson is led by Jacob Bridgeman, the ACC individual medalist and the league’s highest-ranked player.

Notre Dame earned its highest regional seed in school history and is No. 3 in the Palm Beach Gardens (Fla.) Regional. The Irish are joined by fourth seed Florida State, which reached the semifinal in match play two weeks ago at the ACC Championship.

Louisville is the No. 6 seed in the Normandy region (Okla.).

Each team will compete in a three-day, 54-hole regional competition from May 15-18 to determine the field for the 2022 NCAA Championship. Five teams and the lowest-ranking individual not part of a advancing team from each region will advance to the final, to be held May 27-June 1 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Thirteen teams and 10 non-teams will be selected to compete in three regionals while the other three regionals will feature 14 teams and five non-teams. Thirty teams and six individuals not part of these qualified teams will then qualify for the national final.

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida – PGA National Resort-Champions Course (host: Florida Atlantic and Palm Beach County Sports Commission)
3. Notre Dame
4. State of Florida

New Haven, Connecticut – The Course at Yale (host:
1. North Carolina
3. Wake Forest
5. NC status

Norman, Oklahoma – Jimmie Austin Golf Club (Host: Oklahoma)
6. Louisville

Columbus, Ohio – OSU Golf Club (host: Ohio State)
2.Georgia Tech
7. Duke

Comments are closed.