ACC to honor 54 student-athletes with graduate scholarships

GREENSBORO, NC ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference is set to honor 54 student-athletes who have been selected as recipients of the 2022 Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford Graduate Scholarship.

This year’s list includes three student-athletes who will also receive the Thacker Award and nine student-athletes who plan to pursue a professional career in their sport of choice who have been named honorary recipients.

“Congratulations to the incredible recipients of this year’s ACC Graduate Scholarships,” said ACC Commissioner Jim Phillips, Ph.D. “Each of these individuals represents the best in athletics. collegiate and I am extremely proud of their incredible accomplishments so far. We look forward to following what is sure to be a meaningful and successful future as they progress in their respective careers.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford and Jim and Pat Thacker Graduate Scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue higher education after completing their undergraduate studies. Each recipient will receive $6,000 for their graduate studies. Honorees have distinguished themselves both in the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

This year’s class of postgraduate scholars will be highlighted in an hour-long show on ACC Network to air in May.

The following student-athletes will be recognized as 2022 ACC Postdoctoral Fellows:

Name, Institution, Sport, Major
Marnelle Garraud, Boston College, Women’s Basketball, Management – Information Systems/Business Analysis
Bolang Meng, Boston College, Men’s Fencing, Management – Finance/Business Analysis
Eleanor Mataya, Boston College, Softball, Management – Accounting for Finance and Consulting/Business Analysis
George Marks, Clemson, men’s football, psychology
Cammy Pereira, Clemson, Softball, Psychology
Sydney Dawson, Clemson, women’s football, psychology
Tess Boade, Duke, women’s football, international comparative studies
Josh Finesilver, Duke, struggle, evolutionary anthropology
cooper stinson, duke, baseball, biology
Gabrielle Carle, Florida State, women’s soccer, exercise physiology
Izaak Bastian, Florida State, men’s swimming and diving, athletic training
Kelechi Nwanaga, Florida State, Women’s Cross Country/Athletics, Economy
Lotta-Maj Lahtinen, Georgia Tech, Women’s Basketball, Business Administration
Mikaila Dowd, Georgia Tech, women’s volleyball, biomedical engineering
Kyle Barone, Georgia Tech, Men’s Swimming and Diving, Computing
Gabriela Leon, Louisville, women’s cross country/athletics, health and human performance-exercise science
Alli Bitting, Louisville, field hockey, sports administration
Selena Fortich, Miami, women’s football, political science and criminology
Abigail Schwenger, Miami, rowing, elementary and exceptional education and Spanish
Priscilla Hernandez, Miami, women’s volleyball, management
Abby Pitcairn, North Carolina, Field Hockey, Biology
Meredith Sholder, North Carolina, Field Hockey, Biology
Zach Tucci, NC, men’s lacrosse, business administration
Eric Knowles, NC State, men’s swimming and diving, materials science and engineering
Trent Hidlay, NC State, wrestling, business administration
Sophie Hansson, NC State, Women’s Swimming and Diving, Business Administration
Andrew J. Alexander, Notre Dame, Men’s Cross Country/Athletics, Management (MSM)
Maddy Denner, Notre Dame, Women’s Cross Country/Athletics, Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics (ACMS)
Philip K. Quinton, Notre Dame, men’s soccer, political science
Jackson Walti, Pitt, men’s football, sustainable engineering
Felix Wolter, Pitt, Men’s Cross Country/Athletics, Computing
Meghan Root, Syracuse, Women’s Soccer, Public Relations
Polina Shemanova, Syracuse, Women’s Volleyball, Communication and Rhetorical Studies and Language Studies
Rebecca Jarrett, Virginia, Women’s Soccer, Media Studies and American Studies – American Studies and Media Studies (Distinguished Major); minor in entrepreneurship
Courtlynne Caskin, Virginia, Women’s Lacrosse, Media Studies
Owayne Owens, Virginia, men’s athletics, sociology/MA public policy
Emily Gray, Virginia Tech, women’s football, sports media and analytics
Patrick Forrest, Virginia Tech, Men’s Cross Country/Athletics, Management
Tyreke Sapp, Virginia Tech, men’s cross country/athletics, communications and public relations
Shayla Brianna Smart, Wake Forest, women’s soccer, health and exercise science
Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, men’s cross country/athletics, economy
Anna Maria Brylin, Wake Forest, women’s tennis, finance

Jim and Pat Thacker Scholarship Recipients

Name, Institution, Sport, Major
Michaela Dukes, Louisville, Rowing, Biology
Olivia Miller, Pitt, women’s gymnastics, rehabilitation science
Claire Cooke, Syracuse, field hockey, human development and family science

Candidates for honorary scholarships

Name, Institution, Sport, Major
Marc McLaughlin, Boston College, Men’s Ice Hockey, Management – Finance/Management and Leadership
Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson, men’s golf, management
Gina Kim, Duke, Women’s Golf, Psychology
Jenna Johnson, Florida State, women’s beach volleyball, biomaterials and polymers
Nicole Fegans, Georgia Tech, Women’s Cross Country/Athletics, Business Administration
Julia Poole, NC State, women’s swimming and diving, communication
Kianna Smith, Louisville, women’s basketball, MBA
Rachel S. Tanczos, Notre Dame, women’s athletics, no degree
Cal Adomitis, Pitt, Football, Economy

Comments are closed.