ACC unveils 2021-22 men’s basketball awards

BROOKLYN, NY ( – Wake Forest graduate guard Alondes Williams has been named Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and Demon Deacons head coach Steve Forbes is the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Coach of the Year. ACC, highlighting the 2021-22 All-ACC Men’s Basketball Team and winners.

The 2021-22 All-ACC team was determined by a 78-member panel comprised of the league’s 15 head coaches and 63 members of the media.

Duke picked up two awards for the season, as forward Paolo Banchero was named ACC Rookie of the Year, while sophomore center Mark Williams earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. Florida State freshman guard Matthew Cleveland received the Sixth Man of the Year laurels, while NC State redshirt sophomore guard Dereon Seabron won the ACC Most Improved Player honors.

It’s the 11th time a Demon Deacon has won ACC Player of the Year honors and the first since Josh Howard in 2003. A native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Williams averaged 19.3 points, 6 .7 rebounds and 5.3 assists per game in the league. regular season in his first season at Wake Forest. Going into the ACC Men’s Basketball Tournament, he’s just one point behind Syracuse’s Buddy Boeheim for the ACC scoring lead and has the potential to finish the season as the No. 1 player. in league history to lead the league in scoring and assists.

In just his second season at Wake Forest, Forbes is the first Demon Deacons head coach to earn ACC Coach of the Year honors since Skip Prosser in 2003 and eighth all-time. Forbes led Wake to a remarkable turnaround, with the Demon Deacons going from a 6-16 (3-13 ACC) record last season to an improvement of 17 wins and a 23-8 (13-7 ACC) record and a fifth place. end of conference this year. The Deacs were expected to finish 13th in the preseason media poll. Wake Forest’s 13 wins in the ACC match its highest in program history.

Banchero ranks second nationally among all freshmen this season averaging 17.1 points per game. The Seattle native is sixth overall in the ACC in points and fourth in rebounds (7.7). He also has eight double-doubles, fourth among all ACC players. He is the fourth Blue Devil in the past five years to win the Rookie of the Year award, joining Marvin Bagley III (2018), Zion Williamson (2019) and Vernon Carey Jr. (2020).

Williams led a Blue Devils defense that was ACC-leading in field goal defense (41.3%), three-point defense (30.2%) and blocked shots (5.5/game) ) this season. A native of Virginia Beach, Va., Williams led the ACC in blocked shots per game (2.81).

Cleveland is the fourth straight Seminole to win Sixth Man of the Year honors, joining Mfiondu Kabengele (2019), Patrick Williams (2020) and Scottie Barnes (2021). The Atlanta freshman averaged 11.4 points and 4.6 rebounds in 28 games (20 off the bench).

Seabron averaged 17.3 points and 8.0 rebounds this season. His scoring production has improved by 12.1 points per game over the 2020-21 campaign, the best improvement among any ACC player. A native of Norfolk, Va., Seabron ranks fifth in the league in points and second in rebounds. He has 11 double-doubles, the second most in the ACC.

2021-22 ACC Award Winners

Player of the Year: Alondes Williams, Wake Forest

Rookie of the Year: Paolo Banchero, Duke

Coach of the Year: Steve Forbes, Wake Forest

Defensive Player of the Year: Mark Williams, Duke

Most Improved Player: Dereon Seabron, State of North Carolina

Sixth Man of the Year: Matthew Cleveland, State of Florida

2021-22 All ACC Team

first team
Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 380
Alondes Williams, Wake Forest, 373
Paolo Banchero, Duke, 372
Kameron McGusty, Miami, 315
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse, 241

second team
Keve Aluma, Virginia Tech, 192
Dereon Seabron, NC State, 166
Wendell Moore Jr., Duke, 161
Blake Wesley, Notre Dame, 148
Jake LaRavia, Wake Forest, 147

Third team
Dane Goodwin, Notre Dame, 131
Mark Williams, Duke, 119
Isaiah Wong, Miami, 119
Jayden Gardner, Virginia, 106
Michael Devoe, Georgia Tech, 105

Honorable mention
Caleb Love, North Carolina, 84
PJ Room, Clemson, 72
John Hugley, Pitt, 54
Charlie Moore, Miami, 42
Brady Manek, North Carolina, 38
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 22
AJ Griffin, Duke, 22
Paul Atkinson Jr., Notre Dame, 20
Terquavion Smith, NC State, 15
Reece Beekman, Virginia, 15

Note: All-ACC team points are determined on a 5-3-1 system (five points for first team, three points for second team, one point for third team).

ACC Player of the Year
Alondes Williams, Wake Forest, 41 votes
Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 31
Paolo Banchero, Duke, 6 years old

ACC Freshman of the Year
Paolo Banchero, Duke, 72 votes
Blake Wesley, Notre Dame, 4
Terquavion Smith, North Carolina State, 1
Trevor Keels, Duke, 1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Mark Williams, Duke, 46 votes
Reece Beekman, Virginia, 20
Leaky Black, North Carolina, 7
Wendell Moore Jr., Duke, 3
Charlie Moore, Miami, 2 years old

ACC Most Improved Player
Dereon Seabron, State of North Carolina, 33 votes
PJ Room, Clemson, 28
Mark Williams, Duke, 4
John Hugley, Pitt, 4 years old
Dane Goodwin, Notre Dame, 3
Jesse Edwards, Syracuse, 2
Wendell Moore Jr., Duke, 2
James Karnik, Boston College, 1
RJ Davis, North Carolina, 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Matthew Cleveland, State of Florida, 52 votes
El Ellis, Louisville, 6
Anthony Walker, Miami, 6 years old
Khadim Sy, Wake Forest, 6 years old
Kadin Shedrick, Virginia, 5
Quinten Post, Boston College, 2
Cam Hayes, NC State, 1

ACC Coach of the Year
Steve Forbes, Wake Forest, 40 votes
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke, 19
Mike Brey, Notre Dame, 13
Jim Larrañaga, Miami, 3 years old
Mike Young, Virginia Tech, 1
Hubert Davis, North Carolina, 1
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 1

All-ACC Defensive Team
Mark Williams, Duke, 77 votes
Reece Beekman, Virginia, 69
Leaky Black, North Carolina, 55
Charlie Moore, Miami, 45
Wendell Moore Jr., Duke, 33

All Rookie Team
Paolo Banchero, Duke, 77 votes
Terquavion Smith, NC State, 73
Blake Wesley, Notre Dame, 72
AJ Griffin, Duke, 66
Trevor Keels, Duke, 50

Comments are closed.