All-ACC Baseball Team Headlining Season Award Winners

GREENSBORO, NC ( Clemson third baseman Max Wagner was named the 2022 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches, and Wake Forest’s sophomore right-hander , Rhett Lowder, is the ACC pitcher of the year.

NC State designated hitter Tommy White won ACC Rookie of the Year honors, while Louisville senior outfielder Levi Usher was selected as ACC Defensive Player of the Year and John Szefc of Virginia Tech has been given the nod by its peers as ACC Coach of the Year.

The season award winners lead the All-ACC baseball team, which was also announced Monday morning.

Clemson’s Wagner will enter the ACC Baseball Championship this week batting .379 with 74 RBIs, and he’s tied with Georgia Tech catcher Kevin Parada for second nationally in home runs with 26. The 26 homers are tied for fourth in a single season in the ACC. the story.

Wagner leads the conference in slugging percentage (.867), on-base percentage (.506) and OPS (1.373). Wagner’s 26 home runs are also tied for second most in a single season in Clemson program history. The Green Bay, Wisconsin native was named NCBWA National Player of the Week on April 27, has been honored as National Player of the Week twice by college baseball and became the first Tiger since 2012 to be honored consecutive weeks as ACC Player of the Week (April 25 and May 2).

Wake Forest’s Lowder (10-3) is tied for the ACC lead in wins, and his 2.45 ERA is second-best in the conference playoffs. The Albemarle, North Carolina native’s 94 strikeouts in 88 innings are third in the league. Lowder capped off the regular season with a complete gem against NC State last Thursday night, becoming the first Demon Deacon pitcher since 2017 to go the distance in a victory. He is only the 10th pitcher in program history to earn double-digit wins in a single campaign.

In 10 of his 14 starts this season, Lowder has pitched six or more innings while allowing no more than three earned runs in any one appearance. He becomes the first Wake Forest player to earn ACC Pitcher of the Year honors.

NC State’s White, a native of St. Pete Beach, Fla., hit 23 homers to set the ACC freshman record and is just three homers shy of the NCAA freshman mark . White made his college debut in convincing fashion by being named the NCBWA’s National Player of the Month for February and is one of 39 Dick Howser Trophy semi-finalists. White leads the Wolfpack and ranks among the ACC batting (.365) and RBI (68) leaders.

Louisville’s Usher has established himself as one of the best defensive players in college baseball’s center, making numerous highlight plays to deny opponents extra hits while covering the field with the blistering speed that produced 33 bases. ACC-leading volleys on 36 attempts. Usher has made just two errors in 113 outfield opportunities this season. The Fairfax, Iowa native was voted ACC Player of the Week on March 14.

Szefc’s Virginia Tech team was selected for sixth place in the Coastal Division in the ACC’s preseason coaches poll and was unranked by all major publications in February. The fifth-year Hokies head coach will take his team to the ACC Baseball Championship as the division champion and No. 1 seed overall. The Hokies (40-11) are now a consensus top-three team nationally, including a No. 2 ranking by Perfect game. Szefc also hit a milestone by becoming the eighth active ACC head coach to reach the 500 win mark when the Hokies beat No. 2 Miami in mid-April.

Atlantic Division champion Louisville leads all schools with eight total selections to the All-ACC First, Second or Third Team, followed by seven from Virginia Tech and six from Georgia Tech.

Each of the 14 baseball schools in the conference had at least one player elected to the All-ACC and/or ACC All-Freshman teams.

2022 ACC Baseball Awards and All Conference Teams
Player of the Year –
Max Wagner, Clemson, So., 3B

Defensive Player of the Year – Levi Usher, Louisville, Sr., DE

Pitcher of the Year – Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest, So., SP

Freshman of the Year – Tommy White, NC State, Fr., DH

Coach of the Year – John Szefc, Virginia Tech

All-ACC First Team
Max Wagner, Clemson, So., 3B
Parker Messick, Florida State, So., SP
Kevin Parada, Georgia Tech, So., C
Andrew Jenkins, Georgia Tech, So., 1B
Chandler Simpson, Georgia Tech, So., 2B
Carson Palmquist, Miami, So., SP
Andrew Walters, Miami, So., PR
Tommy White, NC State, Fr., DH
John Michael Bertrand, Notre-Dame, Gr., SP
Jake Gelof, Virginia, So., 3B
Alex Tappen, Virginia, Gr., DE
Gavin Cross, Virginia Tech, So., OF
Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech, Fr., SP
Jack Hurley, Virginia Tech, So., DE
Tanner Schobel, Virginia Tech, So., SS
Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest, So., SP

All-ACC Second Team
Luke Gold, Boston College, Jr., 2B
Bryce Hubbart, Florida State, So., SP
Tim Borden II, Georgia Tech, So., DH
Tres Gonzalez, Georgia Tech, So., OF
Jared Poland, Louisville, Sr., SP
Michael Prosecky, Louisville, Jr., PR
Dalton Rushing, Louisville, Jr., C
Levi Usher, Louisville, Sr., OF
Jacob Burke, Miami, So., DE
CJ Kayfus, Miami, So., 1B
Yohandy Morales, Miami, So., 3B
Danny Serretti, North Carolina, Jr., SS
LuJames Groover, NC State, So., 1B
Matt Gilbertson, Pitt, Sr., PS
Brian Gursky, Virginia, Gr., SP
Cade Hunter, Virginia Tech, So., C

All-ACC Third Team
Mack Anglin, Clemson, R-So., SP
Blake Wright, Clemson, So., 2B
Stephen Reid, Georgia Tech, So., DE
Christian Knapczyk, Louisville, So., SS
Cameron Masterman, Louisville, R-Sr., DE
Ben Metzinger, Louisville, Sr., 3B
Jack Payton, Louisville, So., DH
Vance Honeycutt, NC, Fr., DE
Angel Zarate, NC, Jr., DE
Devonte Brown, NC State, Sr., OF
Chris Villaman, NC State, So., PR
Ryan Cole, Notre-Dame, Gr., OF
Billy Corcoran, Pitt, Jr., PS
Nick Biddison, Virginia Tech, Jr., OF
Griffin Green, Virginia Tech, So., SP
Nick Kurtz, Wake Forest, French, 1B
Brendan Tinsman, Wake Forest, R-Jr., C
*17 third team players due to a tie in voting

Freshman team
Alex Mooney, Duke, SS
Jaime Ferrer, State of Florida, OF
Logan Beard, Louisville, 2B
Karson Ligon, Miami, SP
Vance Honeycutt, North Carolina, DE
Tommy White, North Carolina State, DH
Griff O’Ferrall, Virginia, SS
Casey Saucke, Virginia, DE
Carson DeMartini, Virginia Tech, 3B
Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech, PS
Tommy Hawke, Wake Forest, DE
Nick Kurtz, Wake Forest, 1B


Comments are closed.