Nine ACC teams selected for NCAA baseball championship

NCAA support


– Nine teams from the Atlantic Coast Conference will be among the 64 teams when the 2022 NCAA Division I baseball championship kicks off this Friday.

As first announced Sunday night, the ACC champion North Carolina will be a regional host, along with Coastal Division winner Virginia Tech, Louisville and Atlantic Division winner Miami. Florida State, Georgia Tech, Notre Dame, Virginia and Wake Forest were also announced as 2,022 entrants as full NCAA support was unveiled Monday afternoon.

The nine ACC teams in this year’s tournament are tied for most of all conferences. No. 4 Virginia Tech has the highest national seed in the ACC, followed by No. 6 Miami, No. 10 North Carolina and No. 12 Louisville. Each of these teams is ranked first in their respective region.

The ACC has placed at least six teams in the NCAA Tournament for 18 consecutive years. It’s the sixth year since 2010 that at least eight ACC teams have landed berths. This year’s nine teams are the second-most in league history, behind only the 10 ACC selections in 2016.

Two of the ACC teams selected this year rank in the top five nationally for all-time appearances in NCAA tournaments: No. 2 Florida State (59) and No. 3 Miami (48).

NCAA Regionals will be played Friday, June 3 through Monday, June 6.

Florida State (33-23) is in its 44th straight appearance at the NCAA Tournament, which is the longest active streak in the nation. The Seminoles take on UCLA (38-22) in Game 1 of the Auburn Regional. Florida State’s 44 consecutive tournament appearances – from 1978 to present – are tied for the longest postseason streak in NCAA baseball history.

Georgia Tech (34-22) is in the playoffs for the 34th time in program history and will open play against Campbell in the Knoxville Regional.

Louisville is making its 13th NCAA playoff appearance during head coach Dan McDonnell’s 15 full seasons and the program’s 14th appearance overall. The Cardinals (38-18-1) have a day one tie against Southeast Missouri State (37-20) as they serve as regional hosts for the ninth time.

Miami (39-18) will host Canisius (29-23) in its NCAA opener. The Hurricanes last hosted a regional in 2016.

North Carolina (38-19) is making its 34th NCAA appearance and hosts Hofstra (30-25) for its opener Friday. This will be the 12th time UNC has hosted a regional tournament, the 11th time since 2006.

Notre Dame (35-14) will face Texas Tech (37-20) in Game 1 of the Statesboro Regional hosted by Georgia Southern. The Fighting Irish are on the tournament grounds for the second consecutive year and 24th time overall.

Virginia returns for the second year in a row and the 19th time overall. The Cavaliers (38-17) head to the Greenville Regional hosted by East Carolina and have a day one tie against Coastal Carolina (36-18-1). The game will feature two programs that have each won the College World Series since 2015.

Virginia Tech makes the program’s first appearance in an NCAA tournament in nine seasons, its third since joining the ACC (2010, 2013) and its first under fifth-year head coach John Szefc ( his eighth appearance overall). This will be the 11th overall NCAA appearance for the Hokies.

Wake Forest (40-17-1) clinched a berth in the NCAA bracket for the 14th time and the first since earning back-to-back berths in 2016 and 2017. The Demon Deacons will face UConn (46-13) in College Regional park hosted by Maryland.

The selection of the eight NCAA super regional hosts will be announced at on Tuesday, June 7 at approximately 10 a.m. ET. The 75th Men’s College World Series is scheduled to begin Friday, June 17 at Charles Schwab Field Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

The DI Baseball Championship regional format is a double-elimination tournament format with the winning 16 teams advancing to the Super Regionals, which will be held June 10-13. The remaining top eight teams will host the on-campus Super Regionals in a best-of-three series with the eight winners traveling to Omaha.

At least one ACC team has reached the College World Series in each of the previous 15 years in which it has been held, and several ACC teams have reached the CWS 10 times during that span. The ACC has placed a total of 28 teams in the past 15 College World Series, an average of just under two per season.

Ninety-nine ACC teams have won offers from the NCAA in the last 13 tournament years. The ACC’s current 14 teams have a total of 98 College World Series appearances.

Friday’s opening day matchups for the nine 2022 NCAA regional championships involving ACC teams are listed below.

Knoxville Regional hosted by Tennessee
#2 Georgia Tech (34-22) vs. #3 Campbell (40-17), 12 p.m., ESPN+
#1 Tennessee (53-7) vs. #4 Alabama St (34-23), 6 p.m. SECN

Blacksburg Regional hosted by Virginia Tech
#2 Gonzaga (36-17) vs. #3 Columbia (30-16), 1 p.m., ESPN+
#1 Virginia Tech (41-12) vs. #4 Wright St. (30-25), 7 p.m., ACCN

Coral Gables Regional hosted by Miami
#1 Miami (39-18) vs. #4 Canisius (29-23), 12 p.m., ESPN+
#2 Arizona (37-23) vs. #3 Ole Miss (32-22), 7 p.m., ESPNU

Greenville Regional hosted by East Carolina
#1 East Carolina (42-18) vs. #4 Coppin St. (24-28), 1 p.m., ESPN+
#2 Virginia (38-17) vs. #3 Coastal Carolina (36-18-1), 6 p.m., ESPN+

Chapel Hill Regional hosted by North Carolina
#1 North Carolina (38-19) vs. #4 Hofstra (30-21), 2 p.m., ESPN+
#2 Georgia (35-21) vs. #3 VCU (40-18), 7 p.m., ESPN+

Louisville Regional hosted by Louisville
#1 Louisville (38-18-1) vs. #4 Southeast Missouri State (37-20), 2 p.m., ESPN+
#2 Oregon (35-23) vs. #3 Michigan (32-26), 7 p.m., ESPN+

Auburn Regional hosted by Auburn
#2 UCLA (38-22) vs. #3 Florida St. (33-23), 12 p.m., ESPN2
#1 Auburn (37-19) vs. #4 Southeastern La. (30-29), 7 p.m., ESPN+

College Park Regional hosted by Maryland
#2 Wake Forest (40-17-1) vs. #3 UConn (46-13), 1 p.m., ESPNU
#1 Maryland (45-12) vs. #4 LIU (37-19), 7 p.m., ESPN+

Statesboro Regional hosted by Georgia Southern
#2 Notre Dame (35-14) vs. #3 Texas Tech (37-20), 2 p.m., ACCN
#1 Georgia Southern (40-18) vs. #4 UNC Greensboro (34-28), 7 p.m., ESPN+


Comments are closed.