Participants Announced for 2022 ACC Football Kick Off

ACC 2022 Launch Schedule (pdf)


–The Atlantic Coast Conference announced Wednesday the 42 student-athletes who will attend the 2022 ACC Football Kickoff, July 20-21, at the Westin Charlotte in Charlotte, North Carolina. For the second year in a row, each of the league’s 14 teams will bring three players to the annual event.

ACC Network will broadcast live from the ACC Football kick-off. Both days of extended coverage will begin at 9 a.m. on Wednesday and Thursday, and the ACC’s dedicated 24/7 national sports network will provide the most robust television coverage of the event to date.
Among the offensive players in attendance at the ACC kickoff will be nine quarterbacks, seven offensive linemen, four wide receivers, two tight ends and two running backs. Defensively, eight linebackers are expected, along with seven defensive linemen and three defensive backs.

Four of the quarterbacks at this year’s event ranked in the ACC’s top five in yards per game last season – Virginia’s Brennan Armstrong (first, 404.5 yards per game), Wake’s Sam Hartman Forest (third, 302 ypg), Miami’s Tyler Van Dyke (fourth, 293.1 ypg), and NC State’s Devin Leary (fifth, 286.1 ypg).

Hartman threw 39 touchdown passes in 2021 to rank second in the conference and leads ACC comeback quarterbacks this season. Leary threw for 35 touchdowns last fall and Armstrong for 31.

The ACC has continued to establish itself as the Quarterbacks Conference in 2021, and many top players are returning this season. Armstrong ranked fourth nationally in total passing yards (4,449) while Hartman (4,228) ranked seventh. Hartman’s 39 touchdown passes are tied for fifth nationally and Leary’s 35 touchdown passes are tied for 10th. Armstrong ranked second nationally in total yards per game (427.3) and Hartman (327.9) ranked seventh. Louisville’s Malik Cunningham led the league with 20 rushing touchdowns while averaging 218.5 passing yards. Boston College’s Phil Jurkovec (255.8 ypg assists in 2021), Clemson’s DJ Uiagalelei (15 career starts; 196.5 total offense/game in 2021), Florida State’s Jordan Travis (14 career starts, holds the school career record for QB rushing yards and rushing touchdowns) and Syracuse’s Garrett Shrader (14 rushing touchdowns in 2021) round out the quarterback contingent on media day.

North Carolina’s Josh Downs, who led the league in receptions per game and was second in receiving yards per game, is among the Tar Heels’ three representatives. Georgia Tech’s Dylan Leonard and Miami’s Will Mallory — two of the league’s top tight ends — will attend the event in Charlotte.

Four of the top 10 and six of the top 18 tacklers from last year will be in Charlotte, including Virginia’s Nick Jackson, who led the league with 117 saves (9.8 per game). Syracuse linebacker Mikel Jones (2nd, 9.3 per game), NC State’s Drake Thomas (4th, 8.3) Duke’s Shaka Heyward (6th, 8.2 per game), Florida State’s Jammie Robinson (10th, 7.1), Virginia Tech’s Dax Hollifield (11th, 7.0 per game) and Pitt’s SirVocea Dennis (18th, 6.7 per game) will also attend the ACC kickoff. Linebacker Yasir Abdullah, the league’s returning leader in sacks (10) and tackles for loss (17.5), will represent Louisville.

ACC Kickoff student-athletes hail from 18 states, including eight from Florida, seven from North Carolina and six from Georgia. Three inhabit the Commonwealth of Virginia, with two each from Ohio, Connecticut, and New Jersey. Eleven states are each represented by a player, as well as Quebec, Canada (Syracuse offensive lineman Matthew Bergeron).

The full 2022 ACC Football Kickoff student-athlete roster includes:

Boston College
Head Coach Jeff Hafley
Josh DeBerry, DB, Grosse Point Park, Michigan
Zay Flowers, WR, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Phil Jurkovec, QB, Pittsburgh, PA

Head Coach Dabo Swinney
KJ Henry, DE, Winston-Salem, NC
Jordan McFadden, occupational therapist, Spartanburg, SC
DJ Uiagalelei, QB, Inland Empire, CA

Head Coach Mike Elko
DeWayne Carter, DT, Pickerington, Ohio
Shaka Heyward, LB, Dacula, Georgia
Jacob Monk, OL, Clayton, NC

state of florida
Head Coach Mike Norvell
Fabien Lovett, DT, Vicksburg, Mississippi
Jammie Robinson, DB, Cordele, GA
Jordan Travis, QB, West Palm Beach, Florida

Georgia Technology
Head Coach Geoff Collins
Dylan Leonard, TE, Milton, GA
Dontae Smith, RB, Spring Hill, TN
Zamari Walton, DB, Melbourne, Florida

Head Coach Scott Satterfield
Yasir Abdullah, LB, Miramar, Florida
Caleb Chandler, OG, Jefferson, Georgia
Malik Cunningham, QB, Montgomery, Alabama

Head Coach Mario Cristobal
Jahfari Harvey, DE, Port St. Lucie, Florida
Will Mallory, TE, Jacksonville, Florida
Tyler Van Dyke, QB, Glastonbury, Connecticut

North Carolina
Head Coach Mack Brown
British Brooks, RB, Gastonia, North Carolina
Josh Downs, WR, Suwanee, Georgia
Ray Vohasek, DT, McHenry, IL

NC status
Head Coach Dave Doeren
Devin Leary, QB, Sicklerville, N.J.
Isaiah Moore, LB, Chester, Virginia
Drake Thomas, LB, Wake Forest, NC

Head Coach Pat Narduzzi
Deslin Alexander, DL, Pompano Beach, Florida
SirVocea Dennis, LB, Syracuse, New York
Carter Warren, Occupational Therapist, Paterson, New Jersey

Head Coach Dino Babers
Matthew Bergeron, LO, Victoriaville, Quebec, Canada
Mikel Jones, LB, Miami, Florida
Garrett Shrader, QB, Charlotte, NC

Head Coach Tony Elliott
Brennan Armstrong, QB, Shelby, Ohio
Nick Jackson, LB, Atlanta, Georgia
Keytaon Thompson, FBP, New Orleans, Louisiana

Virginia Tech
Head Coach Brent Pry
Silas Dzansi, OL, Woodbridge, Virginia
Dax Hollifield, LB, Shelby, NC
Kaleb Smith, WR, Bumpass, Virginia

Head Coach Dave Clawson
Rondell Bothroyd, DL, Manchester, Connecticut
Sam Hartman, QB, Charlotte, NC
Michael Jurgens, OL, Damascus, Maryland

Comments are closed.